Winning with 41 cards

Two posts on the same day make me wonder if I, maybe, draft too much?

Well, Ravnica drafts keep being good to me. Not much to say here: I believe that one or two very unexperienced drafters might have confounded the table, with me ending up on the winning side, being very generously presented great picks in Orzhov and Rakdos. Only thing truly worth mentioning is that this was the first time in decades that I played 41 cards, but I believe it was correct: I did not want to go below 23 business cards, since I had an aggressive deck, but I really needed 18 mana cards to fix my colored mana. 18 mana cards, 23 business cards was the correct compromise here, I believe.

Here is the list:

6 Plains
4 Swamp
4 Mountain
1 Rakdos Carnarium
1 Boros Signet
1 Orzhov Signet
1 Rakdos Signet
1 Mistral Charger
1 Sell-Sword Brute
1 Squealing Devil
1 Thundersong Trumpeter
1 Centaur Safeguard
1 Daggerclaw Imp
1 Orzhov Euthanist
1 Rakdos Ickspitter
1 Shrieking Grotesque
1 Aurora Eidolon
1 Blind Hunter
1 Ostiary Thrull
1 Screeching Griffin
1 Conclave Equenaut
1 Exhumer Thrull
1 Carom
1 Last Gasp
1 Douse in Gloom
1 Pillory of the Sleepless
2 Wrecking Ball
1 Cackling Flames
1 Faith’s Fetters

Notable SB:
Conclave Phalanx
Steeling Stance
Leave No Trace
Wojek Siren
Undying Psychopath
Necromantic Thirst
Necromancer’s Magemark
Macabre Waltz
Sandstorm Eidolon
Torpid Moloch
Shattering Spree
Riot Spikes
Castigate

I only once sided Castigate in for Carom against a rather creature-poor deck.

Yes, I loved RAV block draft – but one thing I did not miss were the games taking so long that I was in actual danger to lose due to timeout. That is much less an issue in M13!

Explore posts in the same categories: Decklists, General, Lists

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Winning with 41 cards”

  1. jashinc Says:

    Ah, the good ol’ Euthanist-Ickspitter-Combo…
    Man you got some premium removal there…


    • Well, that combo never materialized… I just played beatdown with 1-1 removal backup.

      And I just noted that, in my three drafts so far, I took all the complete paths leading to Rakdos, but in three different ways, meaning that I drafted all RAV guilds except Selesnya, all three Guildpact guilds, but Rakdos every time: GB-RG-RB; UB-RU-RB; WR-BW-RB. Funny…


Leave a Reply

