Three in a row!

Oh, Ravnica, you love me just as much as I love you! I paused for a few days since my last won draft, and as soon as I did another draft, I won another tournament. These silly qualifier points are piling up in my collection, taunting me: “Hey, you know what we are good for? Oh, you know of course: Nothing – absolutely nothing! For you at least! And we are absolutely untradable and will never, ever disappear again! Collect us all – we’re useless!” Seriously – couldn’t I at least get a nice promo instead?

Well, but that’s the way of the world: Give people something for free which they don’t need, and they will complain. (Just that those points aren’t actually totally free, because they represent an effort by WotC to lure us into playing more tournaments, which makes them money, and if that incentive would prove inadequate, they might instead give out something more useful to the majority of players.)

There’s actually not much to say about this draft. I rejected a fpfp Hunted Dragon for Consult the Necrosages and soon found myself in Esper. For some reason, in the second and third booster round I didn’t really have the greatest selection at my disposal, and in Dissension I passed FOUR Wrecking Ball in succession, while Azorius just refused to deliver the goods. Still, I was able to construct a deck with reasonable card quality, reasonable mana distribution and reasonable mana curve, and that proved to be sufficient to win another draft. I beat the usual 4-color goodstuff decks powered by those ever popular bounce lands, defeating two of them quite decisively, and one because his clock ran out, when we were in the third game and the situation was unclear – I was ahead on board and in life, but he had a full grip.

This was the deck:

6 Swamp
5 Island
5 Plains
1 Azorius Signet
1 Orzhov Signet
1 Azorius First-Wing
1 Veteran Armorer
2 Centaur Safeguard
1 Daggerclaw Imp
1 Stoic Ephemera
1 Blind Hunter
1 Guardian of the Guildpact
1 Ostiary Thrull
1 Helium Squirter
1 Tattered Drake
1 Ratcatcher
1 Castigate
1 Rise / Fall
1 Carom
1 Consult the Necrosages
1 Convolute
1 Douse in Gloom
1 Muse Vessel
1 Faith’s Fetters
1 Disembowel
1 Repeal

I wasn’t and am still not entirely sure about that Muse Vessel, but most people I play have several cards in hand until the very endgame, and I also have a little bounce. I once sided it out against Macabre Waltz, but when I didn’t feel I needed that card, I kept the Vessel in without drawing it more than once (when it didn’t do much).

Other than the Waltz, my sideboard contained some stuff like Clinging Darkness and Riot Spikes, which I never wanted, and a Ghost Warden, which didn’t make the cut.

I am 11:1 in Ravnica draft matches now, and my limited rating is 1838, which is very probably an all time high for me. My total signets count is 11, but my total bounce land count is just 4. I still hold that this is the key to my success – RAV block has so many cards which are great when you are in front on the board. It is a wonderful example of an environment which is tempo-based, but at the same time very slow. But I am repeating myself…

Explore posts in the same categories: Decklists, General, Lists

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Three in a row!”


  1. Wow – wenn ich meine Blogstatistik richtig deute, hat sich irgendjemand heute systematisch jeden einzelnen Artikel dieses Blogs durchgelesen!

    War bestimmt jemand vom Verfassungsschutz oder so….


  2. It finally happened: Out first round with a sketchy draw and a mulligan which only worsened things against a 4-color deck that drew out of its ass. I’ll take that as a signal to return to M13, which, as I just noticed, costs 1 ticket less to enter…


Leave a Reply

