Another win in M13

Well, these are not exactly back-to-back wins, but the frequency with which I win drafts in M13 is still quite satisfying to me. Before this new victory, I dropped a  first round with a nearly mono-black deck (featuring a mini-splash of Searing Spear very well supported with the help of Dragonskull Summit and Evolving Wilds) to a Knight of Glory I couldn’t handle (although I had hate-drafted another exemplar of those) in conjunction with, of all things, a Downpour, and in the second game, mulliganed myself into oblivion, once again facing that stupid Knight. I really don’t like what protection and hexproof do in Limited (well, okay, unless I’m on the winning side at the moment, of course). For my Next Level Cubes, I forswore hexproof completely and use protection from a color only very sparingly and consciously – but, most importantly, never on creatures which do more than just attack and block!

So, of course, I couldn’t let this stand and joined another 4-3-2-2 queue. This was the deck:

8 Mountain
8 Island
1 Plains
1 Chronomaton
1 Jace’s Phantasm
2 Welkin Tern
1 Mogg Flunkies
2 Arctic Aven
2 Scroll Thief
1 Wind Drake
1 Bladetusk Boar
1 Firewing Phoenix
1 Talrand, Sky Summoner
1 Unsummon
3 Krenko’s Command
2 Searing Spear
1 Divination
1 Trumpet Blast
2 Turn to Slag

The Plains “splash” worked out very well for me, although the Avens were also completely serviceable as 2/1 flyers, and Talrand usually drew a concession with the production of his second token.

I once sided Trumpet Blast out for an Archaeomancer, and once for a Volcanic Strength. I didn’t feel I ever needed the second Archaeomancer, Negate, Downpour, Fire Elemental, Canyon Minotaur, Goblin Battle Jester or Kindled Fury (I had an additional six or so more far-fetched options).

In the finals, I found myself in the position of needing to control out a lightning-fast RW deck – Reckless Brute, Kindled Fury and all – which reminded me that in M13, my build is actually already a midrange deck.

Oh, and my new rating peak is 1845. I strongly doubt I will get much higher. Anyway, I SHOULD draft a little less than in the last few days, maybe even make a longer pause again – but, then again, it is SO much fun right now!

Explore posts in the same categories: Decklists, General, Lists

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

