A Win with Boros in Kaladesh Draft

Yup, you read that right: Kaladesh, not Amonkhet. I still had a couple virtual boosters from that set and from Aether Revolt lying around on my account (obviously, now I have even more of them), because I did not get to draft that format quite as much as I’d wanted to, while also doing decently well in it. So I kept them until I felt like returning to that block.

Today I did, after once again failing to go 3-0 in a league, although I was pretty sure I drafted reasonably well, but then met a deck that looked simply way more powerful than mine and almost certainly hailed from another draft pod. I am not sure how much the idiosyncrasies of Amonkhet are responsible, how much the nature of draft leagues is, and how much it is just random variance, but I am just not doing as well lately as I am used to in drafts, and the issue seems to lie with my decks. I never was a great player, but I am pretty sure that I do not play worse now than I did in the last few years – I actually believe I even got a little better again due to spending more time with the game. I also don’t think that I draft worse. My decks just do not come together quite like they should, and my opponents always seem to have better decks than they should if they drafted in the same pod as I.

So, today felt like the right time to give Kaladesh block draft a farewell, and also to do a pod draft once again. Of course, I convincingly 3-0ed my pod, which succinctly proves that pod draft rewards skill more than league draft does! On a more earnest note, my impression that Kaladesh block had actually been a little faster than Amonkhet draft was reinforced (and it’s still just a medium fast format).

BTW, my FPFP was Freejam Regent, which I drew exactly once: On the very last turn of the last game in the finals, when my opponent was already dead on board (and tapped out) to my Destructive Tampering. (Angel of Invention I drew and cast once, resultig in an immediate concession from my opponent – oh, and one time I scryed it to the bottom of my library after a mulligan.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Decklists

Tags: , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.